Film

Red Joan 12A

Fri 26 Apr – Thu 9 May


Synopsis

"[Dench] delivers a typically sterling performance, gradually unveiling subtle layers to Joan as we learn the truth of her actions" – dogandwolf.com

★★★★ – Far Out Magazine

Based on the sensational true story of the ‘Granny Spy’, Judi Dench plays octogenarian Joan Stanley – arrested by the police under suspicion of being a Soviet Spy during her time working as a British civil servant in the years following World War II.

Interviewed by two police officers and accompanied by her shocked son, Joan remembers her time at Cambridge University where she first met and fell for Russian Jew and fiery Communist Leo (Tom Hughes).

Terrified by the activities of the world’s global superpowers, Joan becomes determined to see what one woman can do to halt their rush to mutually assured destruction.

Dir: Trevor Nunn

Cast: Judi Dench, Sophie Cookson

UK 2018, 110mins

Buy Tickets


M
T
W
T
F
S
S

Tue 30 Apr 2019

View further ahead

Wed 1 May 2019

Fri 3 May 2019

Sat 4 May 2019

Sun 5 May 2019

Mon 6 May 2019

Tue 7 May 2019

Wed 8 May 2019

Thu 9 May 2019

MyPhoenix cardholders

Don’t forget to login to your account before purchasing to ensure discounts or points are applied.